invisible hit counter

Is Twisted Tea Gluten Free? Gluten Free Diet Precautions

Is Twisted Tea Gluten Free? Gluten Free Diet PrecautionsTwisted Tea is a tea-flavored beer that anyone enjoys. This beer is not that sweet and it does taste like a freshly brewed tea. But, some people with gluten-free diet are suggested not to drink this beverage, while others assume that drinking this beer won’t do any damage to their body.

Is It True That Twisted Tea Gluten Free?

Twisted Tea is one of the beer brands that are famous in the US. The company has made different kinds of beer with different tastes. Among all of their favorite beers, Twisted Tea causes debates among beer lovers.

Any kind of beer is actually made from the malt that is not gluten-free. Since Twisted Tea contains 5% alcohol, you can assume that this beer is also not-gluten-free. If you take a look at its ingredients, it contains wheat, barley, and gluten that clearly tell you that Twisted Tea is definitely not gluten-free.

Celiac Disease and Twisted Tea

Gluten is mainly found in grains, like barley, wheat, and rye. This natural protein is perfectly safe for most people, but in some cases, it can be very dangerous and cause different kinds of side effects. People with celiac disease are advised not to eat or drink anything that contains gluten because it can trigger the bad response of the immune in the body.

Around 1% of the population in the US has celiac disease. It makes them be in a gluten-free diet to avoid side effects on the body. The immune of the body will respond badly to the body by destroying the villi or lining of the small intestine. In the worst case, this condition can lead to malnutrition and nutrient deficiencies.

Since Twisted Tea is not gluten-free, it can be dangerous for people with celiac disease. Some people don’t really understand the symptoms of this celiac disease and if you have following symptoms after drinking non-gluten free Twisted Tea, you are advised to see your doctor immediately.

  • Bloating

When consuming gluten, people with celiac disease can experience bloating. It is because the celiac disease will attack the digestive tract and cause inflammation. It will result in bloating and other digestive issues. However, in some cases, bloating can be eliminated when you do a gluten-free diet.

  • Weight loss

Celiac disease can also cause malnutrition and weight loss. It is because the disease attacks the body’s ability to absorb nutrients. Most people with celiac disease will have severe weight loss and it can only be resolved if you do gluten-free diet and follow the medical treatment.

  • Constipation

Not only cause bloating and weight loss, but the damage or villi can also cause constipation on some people. It is because the villi cannot absorb the nutrients, but it will absorb the extra moisture of the stool. It makes the stool hardened and has difficulties to pass, and leads to constipation.

  • Iron-deficiency Anemia

Some studies also found out that people with celiac disease may develop iron-deficiency anemia. It is because the body cannot absorb the nutrients well and it will lead to the decreasing red blood cells in the body. When it happens, people with celiac disease may develop fatigue, headaches, weakness, dizziness, and chest pain.

  • Fatigue

Another symptom that you might feel is fatigue. It is because the celiac disease will cause sleep disorders and it will lead to fatigue. Also, the fatigue can come from the damage of small intestine can cause vitamin and mineral deficiencies.

Alternatives to Gluten Free Beverages

Consuming any kind of gluten may lead to a bad health condition. To avoid the side effects of gluten, you are suggested to cut the gluten altogether. It is also better if you do the gluten-free diet to boost the overall body health.

In gluten-free diet, you cannot just stop consuming gluten-free food and beverages, but you also need to increase the nutrients of the body by consuming fruits, vegetables, eggs, meat, and also nuts.

Since Twisted Tea is not gluten-free, you need to find the alternative to gluten-free beverages. Before you purchase something, you are advised to see the ingredients.

Thankfully in the US, there are strict regulations related to the gluten-free label in any beverage. It also means that those beverages use gluten-free ingredients on the making process. It means that you can easily find gluten-free beverages easily.

Nowadays, beer companies also make gluten-free beverages to expand their market. If you still love your gluten beverage, not only beer but also other alcoholic drinks, you can order the gluten-free version online. Some companies have provided some gluten-free version by order.

Twisted Tea is made from barley and it is definitely not gluten-free. In the product ingredients, you can see that this beer adds gluten and other grains. If you are on a gluten-free diet, drinking this tea is prohibited because it can cause different side effects to your body.

Author: , last updated: 2019-05-15

Comments

Currently there is no comment yet. 

Click here to leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *